10 Tips For Becoming a Better Writer

Laurie Gardiner-Author

  1. Daydream. There’s a reason why writers stare into space. Daydreaming is part of the creative process. Go for a walk, soak in the bath, meditate, open your mind and let it fill with ideas.

  1. Set goals. Some writers set word goals and won’t stop until they reach that number. I prefer to set aside a certain number of hours each day to spend writing, and whether I write 500 or 2500 words doesn’t matter. For me, it’s less stressful than agonizing over word count on a slow day. Find what works for you, set up a schedule and stick to it.

  1. Establish a routine. Once you’ve set your goals, a routine will help you achieve them. Try to write at the same time every day until it becomes a normal part of your daily routine.

  1. Write about something you care about. I don’t necessarily believe you…

View original post 323 more words

2 thoughts on “10 Tips For Becoming a Better Writer

  1. Hi Denise … great tips: the important thing is to write and be thinking .. a good walk helps – mind one on a warm beach would be better!

    Cheers and have a lovely festive time with family and friends – Hilary

    Like

  2. Wonderful points, both here and in the rest of the article.

    I have an 11th: Seize the inspiration of the moment.

    Tonight, I was writing my new WIP where my hero is riding to an enormous band of Sioux who wait for him to decide to kill him or let him be their spokesman for another treaty. On Pandora.com came Lisa Gerrard’s Song of Seraphim. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2ArEaOWqzYo

    I already knew my hero was going to have the Angelus of Death broker the treaty for him. I thought how unsettled Sioux warriors would be if haunting voices of mournful Seraphim started singing unseen above them. It moved me to write even more movingly than I had planned.

    Just a thought. Have a lovely Christmas. Me, I will be back on the roads again … in blinding rains yet@

    Like

I love it when you speak to me

