IWSG post–is our writing ever good enough? There’s help out there!

Aren’t we all somewhat insecure about our writing? Well, duh, that’s the whole point of IWSG!  I’ve never yet met a writer who wasn’t stricken with self-doubt somewhere along the line. So a perfect antidote is to attend a masterclass with someone whose past students got published after attending her classes and many ended up on the New York Times Best-selling List. I could live with that!

Facebookers amongst us will know that I’ve been attending a Margie Lawson Immersion Class for 5 days, where 8 lucky writers who were the first to sign up spent 12 hours a day learning at the seat of the master editor and make-your-novel-amazing Margie from Colorado.

The mornings were spent learning how to make our manuscripts sing louder, through more visceral writing and amplification, and the afternoons were spent writing, analyzing our manuscripts and the biggie–one-on-one sessions with Margie.

Absorbing her edit system (which of course I can’t share due to copyright) was the most awesome thing about the retreat, held in a gorgeous home in a leafy suburb of Brisbane. I also picked up 2 fab critique partners, both romance writers: Tania and Sheila in the centre of the above pic. According to Margie, we’re a good fit. They’re a couple of dynamos!

Margie has asked me to host an Immersion Class at our beach house in March ’17. I’m considering it.

No, Margie didn’t hire me as her publicist, but I’m so excited about what I’ve learned that I thought I’d share it for the #IWSG.

So I’ll just share one example of mine with you. You have to have a ms under your arm when you turn up. I brought along my 45,000 word ms for ‘Carpe Diem—Love and Art in Paris’ (WORKING TITLE).  I never got further than a few pages with Margie as she was bursting her creativity all over those opening pages (and my major turning point). I went away from the one-on-one and rewrote my opening line…and my first two chapters several times.

Here’s the opening line on my original ms:

OPENING LINE:

The stranger props himself on a bar stool in front of me like he owns the place.

(cringe-worthy much?)
REWORKING:

I watch the tall Frenchman push his way into Marcel’s Bar in Pigalle, Paris’s naughty end of town.
(After a session with Margie. Less cringe-worthy?)

Now, it still has room for improvement, of course, writing always does, but now that I’ve been Margie-fied, I have learned a few more ways to tempt the reader.

NOW after visiting other IWSGers, I see I was supposed to answer the question: how do I find the time to write in my busy day…well, lately I’ve been getting up early and writing for a couple of hours before anyone else wakes up…it’s just me, my laptop and the sea view. Then I grab two hour sessions throughout the day. I’d say at the moment I’m averaging about six hours a day writing. That’s what Hemingway did, and Dean Koontz does…

Thanks a whole bunch of koalas, Margie!

Margie Lawson's profile photo

www.MargieLawson.com

Lawson Writer’s Academy

Twitter: @margielawson

Facebook: Margie Lawson

This has been a post for the Insecure Writers Support Group. Go HERE to sign up or read more posts.

Visit the co-hosts!

  1. Lee McKenzie,Rachel Pattison,Elizabeth Seckman,Stephanie Faris, Lori L MacLaughlin, and Elsie Amata! 

    And a heads-up for the October Write…Edit…Publish. The theme is CONSTELLATIONS, so get your little sci-fi, fantasy brains around that one. More details soon! Should be a double hoot!
  2. WRITE..EDIT...PUBLISH - JOIN US!
  • How about you? Have you attended a writers’ retreat?

  • Do you know Margie Lawson?

  • Do you have any editing tips to share with us?

5 thoughts on “IWSG post–is our writing ever good enough? There’s help out there!

  1. The retreat sounds amazing, and the picture looks like you had a blast! I’m currently reworking the beginning of my ms also, so I can totally relate to trying to take a cringe-worthy beginning and trying to make it shine! You definitely improved yours! Margie sounds inspirational, and so do you! Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love this post, Denise. Your post-retreat creative energy comes through loud and clear. And the rewrite of the opening line is terrific. There’s a clearer sense of the POV character, and the added detail brings the setting to life.

    I have never attended a writers’ retreat. The closest would be the Writer Unboxed UNConference (the second of which is coming up in November – yay!). There’s something inspirational about being surrounded by writers and being immersed in process.

    My only editing advice would be once line-item editing is complete, evaluate your manuscript in as many ways as possible: online, on paper, reading aloud, e-reader, computer speech function, digitally recording and playing back. It’s amazing what you can catch just by switching from computer screen to e-reader.

    VR Barkowski

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you speak to me

