#IWSG day — Sure I’m insecure, who isn’t? AUGUST IS BIG, SO BIG FOR ME!  

Hello friends!

I missed last month’s IWSG as my favorite aunty took ill. Unfortunately, she passed away, so I was too busy to think about posting on my blog.

But I’m back for August’s post. I love the August question:

What are your pet peeves when reading/writing/editing?

I’d rather not get started on this one — but really, I’m always against all the rules for emerging writers which the big guys break all the time.

And these broken rules don’t hurt the story.

Lately, every book I’ve picked up has got a Prologue (you know what we get told, right? Wrong. I love prologues but I’d be afraid to write one.) And backstory–you know how we get told to just insert it like splinters of glass–hey ho, I agree. Several books I’ve read recently start with a lot of backstory, whoa, pages and pages, yawn, yawn. Yeah. Readers don’t really want to be bombarded with lots of the old stuff that happened pre-story, they want to keep ploughing along in the moment. Except those who read best-sellers, apparently, LOL!

Thanks to Alex J Cavanaugh and his team for keeping the IWSG on the road. This month he has the assistance of several luminaries:

Christine Rains, Dolarah @ Book Lover, Ellen @ The Cynical Sailor, Yvonne Ventresca, and LG Keltner!

If you have time, do pay each a visit.

So, what am I insecure about this month?

Well, August is very important to me and my writing.

It actually starts today (July 27th when I was writing this post) with the IWSG pitch contest. Well, Australian time it’s 10 pm tonight – 10am tomorrow. Insecurity to the max and black circles under eyes, anyone?

Hey, I totally suck at selling anything, but I’m giving it a shot.

HAVE A GO!!!!!!!!! PITCH TO AGENTS!!!
It’s all over by now. I know some of you got ‘favorited’ by editors/publishers. I got ‘favorited’ by a publisher who I later found out was a vanity publisher who wanted money up-front. I hope no one else got taken in by them. It disturbed me that they were allowed in the pit. Now, moving on…
The next scariest thing happens from August 11 – 13th. This is theRomance Writers of Australia’s conference, luckily held in Brisbane — just a short stroll across the river from where I live when I’m in town. It’s going to be MASSIVE for me as I’ve just finished my Paris women’s fiction. Well, as finished as it can be before 600 more rewrites. And my next trip to Paris in September to check my locations for my sequel…
So, I’ve written a Synopsis with the help of my critters, touched up my bio and air-brushed my photo (just kidding) and sent my manuscript to the Director of Avon Romance/William Morrow who’s attending the conference. I’ve paid for a 15-minute session where she’s going to assess my manuscript. Altogether terrifying and wonderful. This is what she’s looking for in case any of you are sitting on a ms that might suit Avon. They do take unsolicited mss for their Avon Impulse digital first line.
CARRIE FERON – AVON
Executive Editor, Senior Vice President
1. Which areas/imprints are you actively acquiring for?High concept historicals, historical romance, psychological suspense, women’s fiction
2. What subgenres are you currently seeking?Single Title, Contemporary and Historical
3. What kind of writing will especially pique your interest?I love writing with a very strong voice.
4. What are you not looking for, so we don’t waste your time and ours?Literary fiction, SF, YA
5. What would you love/hate to see pitched to you?Something with a great hook.
So, here’s hoping my story is just what she’s been searching the globe for. Now added to the session with Carrie Feron,
  • I have a 5-minute pitch to Tule Publishing
  • A session with a publisher with only 9 attendees
  • 15 minutes with Google
  • 15 minutes with Draft2Digital
and 3 days of fabulous workshops with fabulous people in between.
So, you get it? My August is going to be OUTTA THIS WORLD (even if Carrie says no thanks)!
And there’s more:
JOIN WRITE...EDIT...PUBLISH FOR THE AUGUST CHALLENGE!
I haven’t neglected my Write…Edit…Publish friends. (Well, maybe just a little…)
We have a new challenge which opened yesterday. If you’d like to try your hand at flash fiction, non-fiction, poetry, photography, artwork, join our REUNIONS challenge. An excerpt from a WIP is totally fine if it suits the prompt. I know we’re going to get our heartstrings tugged here.
CLICK on the SUBMIT button in my right-hand sidebar or trot across to WEP and add you name to the list. There you’ll find some extra help to participate in this awesome prompt, dreamed up by Nila Bose and the badge created by Olga Godim.
C’mon. Make my August and yours even better!
12 thoughts on “#IWSG day — Sure I’m insecure, who isn’t? AUGUST IS BIG, SO BIG FOR ME!  

  1. Thanks for stopping by my blog and offering encouragement. So sorry for your loss.
    I like breaking the rules.
    That’s a shame about the vanity press; they probably weren’t invited but just tagged along.
    Good luck at your conference.
    Don’t know if I’ll be able to submit to WEP this time around, but I look forward to reading all the stories.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sorry for your loss of your favorite aunt. The Romance Writer’s conference sounds great and good luck with your meeting with publishers! I have been trying not to absorb all the advice for writers just wanting to develop my own style.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I think I mean about my own style is I am resisting following a formula. I have read other writers say that they just start writing and end up with a story at the end without a lot of rigid structure or formula. And I have read recently that introverts INFPs minds word differently in that they really have a hard time thinking linearly and create stories differently. So I do think I am more like the latter. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        1. We have to do what we choose, Deborah, but as a women’s fiction/romance writer there is a formula as much as they try to say there’s not. A reader is looking for certain ‘beats’ and has certain expectations wired into their brain. I’ve tried doing freeform romance and got rejected by the publisher and so this time I’m trying to give ’em what they want and quite enjoying the process.

          I hope your process works for you! 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s interesting to hear about the books you’ve read having prologues – my current WIP has one as well as an epilogue – if I’m going to break a rule, I’m going to do it properly.

    Good luck with the conference – awesome that it’s so close to you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Annalisa! Lovely you popped by. I read a lot of women’s fiction and won’t relate all the titles here. The current trend is to use BEFORE and AFTER instead of PROLOGUE and EPILOGUE. Sounds more interesting and less weighted. But you must agree, some prologues are just Chapter One. I like a prologue to intrigue me and have me panting to reach that part of the story.

      Currently I’m reading Maggie Alderson who uses the BEFORE and AFTER. But editors are right when they discourage prologues that don’t fulfil the role of a prologue.

      Good luck with yours!

      Denise 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Good luck at the romance conference, Denise. I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you.
    Actually, I like the rules you mentioned. I think it is a good idea to follow them. I happen to agree that back story shouldn’t be dumped on the reader and that a prologue is rarely necessary. But that’s just my opinion, and I’m not a bestselling author. Maybe I’m wrong.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Olga. Thanks. I do love a good prologue which has me in suspense when that part of the story is reached. Now I see modern women’s fiction writers are using BEFORE and AFTER instead of PROLOGUE and EPILOGUE.

      Like

  5. You wanted early posts since you are going on vacation in September so I am posting my WEP this upcoming Friday! How’s that for early? I am grieved to hear of your favorite aunt. Sandra, my best friend of over 25 years, also passed away recently. Life is so fragile. Have a great vacation!

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you speak to me

